Feminist Aspie

So I had a huge shutdown and now I have a lot of feelings…

on January 24, 2017

(CONTENT NOTE: This post discusses an autistic shutdown and internalised ableism)

I won’t be around this Friday, so I’m being prepared for once and writing this on Tuesday night! I’ll publish now too, because apparently I’m more impatient than I thought. On the other hand, I’m afraid this is going to be one of those whining-about-my-life posts, because it’s safe to say the past few days have been a bit of a mess!

So: after I’d already had an intense couple of days, some (relatively new) friends from uni started planning to go to Women’s March and I decided to go with them too. This was a Very Obviously Bad Decision. I was overloaded and panicky the second the packed tube doors closed, ended up non-verbal and frozen stiff on the outskirts of the huge crowd, and ultimately found myself zoning in and out on a tube back home before any actual marching had even started. Everything had fallen apart.

Firstly, I know I’m not going to be the only one who’s had similar experiences, and even the fact that I could get there at all is a huge privilege in itself. There’s a lot to be said about inaccessibility in activism; about how some forms of activism are prioritised over others and seen as more “real”, to the detriment of the disabled people (and people in general) who carry out important activist work in other ways; about how instead of add-on tokenism so disabled people can feel included, we need to actually BE included and have our needs considered from the start of activist planning; the list goes on.

For now, though, I want to focus on the shutdown itself and the torrent of internalised ableism and self-loathing that followed. For the rest of the day all I could think about was how terrible and useless and silly I was – not because I couldn’t participate (like I said, inaccessiblity is a thing), but because I couldn’t participate and I tried anyway. If I’d stayed home in the first place I could have at least got on with uni work and perhaps been more vocal online, but instead I put myself through all that stress and ended up writing off the whole day (and, I think, reduced productivity for several days) only to ultimately contribute nothing. If anything, I’d contributed negatively, in that my friends (who were in this situation with me for the first time) were also held back while they tried to figure out what was going on and how to help.

Ultimately though, I think a lot of those feelings just boiled down to frustration. To put it bluntly: I came up against a huge barrier that would not have been there if I were neurotypical. Of course, in many ways you could argue that happens all the time, but, at least in my case, it’s rarely so blatant, so clear-cut, that the only thing standing between me and the goal was my brain. It makes me feel vulnerable; well, I guess it makes me aware of the vulnerability that’s always there.

The other reason I feel vulnerable is because I suddenly feel very visible; it didn’t help that I posted a lot about autism on my Facebook last week for reasons I can’t really go into here. As soon as I had the typing words, I was venting about what happened in practically every space I could think of, to the point that I was a little worried about this post in case parts are recognisably lifted from posts and comments under my own name. But immediately after doing so, I’d feel embarrassed, whiny, silly, looking for attention (why is that even a bad thing anyway?) and if I’m totally honest, I still feel a bit like this now as I write.

I got some really lovely messages on the day from the people I’d gone with, and they were all really nice about it when I saw them again in class, but it didn’t stop me feeling… weird. Weird: My go-to word for a feeling I haven’t quite identified yet. Self-conscious. Guilty. Ashamed. Yep, I felt ashamed that I’d shut down like that so obviously in front of them, even though I know on a logical level that I shouldn’t. Telling the whole story to others has also been…weird. Difficult. Misunderstood. I always forget until I have to talk about autism-related concepts like meltdowns and shutdowns that most people don’t really know what it means without you explaining it (which is something many people struggle with, including myself), and even then, they don’t necessarily get it. It’s not their fault at all, they just can’t relate, it’s not within the realm of experiences they have had. And it makes me feel so alien.

If today’s energy levels and executive function are anything to go by, I’m still not quite over it yet. (Okay, so I wrote a long blog post, but I’ve barely scratched the surface of what I actually had to do today!) I’m not sure if I have actually been more sensitive and less able to handle social situations over the past couple of days, but I’m definitely more consciously aware of other times when I might be visibly different, or other things I find difficult that “should” be easy, and it feels… y’know, weird. Again, frustration and vulnerability and shame and feeling bad for feeling bad, because I really know I shouldn’t.

Sometimes, the most useful contribution you can make is to take care of yourself, and that’s okay. Sometimes, you have to just accept yourself for who you are, and who you are is okay. I just wish I knew how to put that into practice.

11 responses to “So I had a huge shutdown and now I have a lot of feelings…

  1. autisticook says:

    You know, I think part of the feeling ashamed and weird and alien is people being nice instead of accommodating. For the past two years or so, I’ve been part of a fairly big community thing in my city, and I’ve got to experience firsthand how friends actually accommodating me works. When I say I can’t do a certain meetup because that location is too crowded on Fridays or too loud, instead of saying “Oh what a pity, we totally understand, see you next time”… people actually try and suggest alternatives, like would a different day work better at that place, or can we find another place less crowded or less loud. It helps that I’m not the only autistic person in the community, but we’re still a minority. And yet people go beyond being nice about ut and make an effort to include everyone. Makes me feel far less like the weird alien person who always makes a fuss about things.

    • Yeah that makes a lot of sense – thanks for reading, and it’s great to see you back in the comments again! 🙂

      • Ditto with the nice to see you back, @autisticook!
        Nice, like tolerant, I find dreadful.
        Kindness, yes; inclusion, yes. Nice? Meh.
        And yes, here’s to taking care of ourselves; if you, @feministaspie, can learn starting now you’ll be way better off from a young age than some of us elders.
        Thanks and love,
        Full Spectrum Mama

  2. I’m not on the spectrum but I experience problems in busy places. I’m normally housebound due to chronic illness so being out in busy places makes me overwhelmed just because I’m not used to processing so many different sights and sounds at once. When that happens I can’t cope and I start to panic. And then my brain fog kicks in and while I’m not non verbal at any point, I struggle to put together full sentences. It’s different from the shutdowns you experience, and I don’t want to compare it to what I experience. But as a result of my experiences I have started to avoid busy places. And so from my perspective it is a massive achievement that you even tried to go. You should be proud of yourself for trying.

  3. willaful says:

    I’m think you were very brave to try and I’m so sorry it wasn’t accessible for you. I was lucky enough to be able to go to a small nearby march, and I got a lot of help from the universe and from kind strangers (perhaps I repeat myself?), and even so, I was still shaking by the time I got home. Just waiting at the back had me close to a panic attack. But it was a positive experience overall. I’m sorry you didn’t get to come away with good feelings about it, but I hope you can give yourself credit for the effort. Each according to our abilities…

  4. I was at the Women’s March. And I’ve felt the need to write about what happened there for weeks. But I just couldn’t get it out. I made it to the March, but after 4 hours of standing there (The Rally ran way over time) I had a huge meltdown. At that point, the crowd had pushed in so much there was no body space, and no way out. I had a massive panic attack. I yelled. I was in front of my friends. I was rescued by the police who helped me push through to a place where I could be not touched by others. I feel so ashamed.

    I was wearing an anti-ablism sign on my coat. Loud and proud. So, the rest of day, I spent wrestling with my intense feelings of shame while simultaniously aware that I was there advocating for less shame, and more access.

    These events are distinctly unfreindly to autistic people. Some of it couldn’t be helped, like they couldn’t have known so many people would show up. But other parts, like going over time, could have been helped. When you have a million people waiting outside in the cold for a walk to start, you don’t just tell them to wait for 5 more speakers and two more singers. That’s one time when modifying your behavior to appease autistic need for order would have benefited everyone.

  5. Ele says:

    Yes. I hadn’t read this yet when I wrote my last post! It is so hard not to feel guilty. But we’re allowed to make mistakes – just like everybody else does. Good that your friends seem to understand that too 🙂

Leave a Reply

the silent wave

life through one female Asperger's lens

Living In Limbo

The rants, writing and ramblings of a queer, autistic, chronically ill young adult.

Little Bird, Dreaming

Welcome to the landscapes, mindscapes, and futurescapes of my geography journeys

Sacred Liminality

musings of a genderfluid Fae

the uninspirational

I'm not aspiring to inspire you

Elephants Remember

Living and working with autism in a non-autistic world

that Bloody Cat

Love and chaos deep in the Midwest

Just One Autistic Girl

Be As Younique as your own Fingerprint

drcable sTRANge notes

notes on the sTRANge

A Willful Woman...

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

Musings Of A Wandering Autistic

I'm Autistic, I like walks, there's probably water nearby.

searchingtounderstand

When I understand, I feel better. This condemns me to a lot of reading and thinking.

21andsensory

I'm Emily and I have Sensory Processing Disorder

Michy's Mess

The Mess of my Ups and Downs and All Arounds

