Feminist Aspie

Three Day Quote Challenge – Day 1

on December 15, 2015

So I was nominated for this challenge by A Willful Woman what seems like billions of years ago now, and I’m only just getting round to doing it after a month and a half with no blog posts. Thank you for the nomination, and I’m really sorry for the delay – I’m officially a final-year law student now, so things have been pretty hectic recently and unfortunately I can’t be as glued to WordPress and Twitter as I’d like!

Anyway, the rules of the challenge are as follows:

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you.
  • Publish a quote on 3 consecutive days on your blog. The quote can be one of your own, from a book, movie, or from anyone who inspires you.
  • Nominate 3 more bloggers each day to carry on this endeavour.

After a little while trying to find the right super-inspirational quote to use, I’ve ended up deciding to start off with something funny instead… I suppose I’ve got two more days to make a serious point with, right? Anyway, this is from the weird and wonderful podcast Welcome to Night Vale, performed as a radio broadcast in a desert town where nothing is quite as it seems; more specifically it’s from the episode “Summer Reading Program”, and I’ve chosen it because it’s relevant to what has accidentally become a recurring theme on my blog…

“Some summer tips to beat the heat:

First off, have you tried to reason with the heat? Humans, temperatures, angels, and chairs are all equally real and sentient – which is to say that we’re all not real, nor are any of us actually sentient. But give reason a shot. It has never, not once in history worked, but it might just work this time!

If the heat won’t listen to reason, try denying that it’s hot. “Doesn’t seem hot today,” you might say to your profusely sweating neighbor. “A little chilly even,” you could continue, slipping on a sweater and making an exaggerated “brr!” noise as the glaring sun plants the idea of cancer in your skin.

And, if denial does not work, then your best bet – as with all problems in life – is exhausted resignation.

This has been summer tips to beat the heat.”

…Yeah, Night Vale is an unusual place. But this episode was part of the initial batch I listened to when I first got into the podcast during what was a pretty rocky time in my life, and this is still one of my favourite segments because turning something scary into something funny can often be really helpful, and also because it’s nice to be able to laugh at yourself sometimes!

Today I’m nominating Full Spectrum Mama, Alex Forshaw from Married With Asperger’s and HJ Street from Geeky Scribbles.

As stated above, this challenge goes on for three days, so I promise the gap between this post and the next won’t be quite as long this time!

 

5 responses to “Three Day Quote Challenge – Day 1

  1. alexforshaw says:

    Thank you. I’d better get thinking. xx

  2. willaful says:

    Thanks for joining in!

    My kid has yet another strategy… he uses reverse psychology with the weather.

  3. […] was nominated for this challenge by a blogger who I love to read because she has a definite knack for getting to […]

  4. […] is my second post after being nominated for this challenge by FeministAspie. Two down, and just one to […]

  5. […] a day late for the third and final part after being nominated for this challenge by […]

Leave a Reply

Living In Limbo

The rants, writing and ramblings of a queer, autistic, chronically ill young adult.

Little Bird, Dreaming

Welcome to the landscapes, mindscapes, and futurescapes of my geography journeys

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Sacred Liminality

musings of a genderfluid Fae

the uninspirational

I'm not aspiring to inspire you

Elephants Remember

Living and working with autism in a non-autistic world

that Bloody Cat

Love and chaos deep in the Midwest

Just One Autistic Girl

Be As Younique as your own Fingerprint

drcable sTRANge notes

notes on the sTRANge

A Willful Woman...

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

Musings Of A Wandering Autistic

I'm Autistic, I like walks, there's probably water nearby.

searchingtounderstand

When I understand, I feel better. This condemns me to a lot of reading and thinking.

21andsensory

I'm Emily and I have Sensory Processing Disorder

Michy's Mess

The Mess of my Ups and Downs and All Arounds

