Feminist Aspie

I’m still here!

on January 20, 2015

Just a quick update. Earlier today I took the decision to make private my most recent post from just over a week ago, because it was quite personal and aimless and made a bit of a mess of a really tricky subject with loads of different issues mainly ignored in favour of whining about my feels. There’s a small chance that my (unrelated) post from late December may eventually follow suit, although I’ve decided to leave it up for now, and that will make it look like I’ve been off the radar for two months. So basically, I’d just like to let you all know that I still exist, I still read the blogs I follow fairly regularly, I can still be found on Twitter from time to time, and a new blog post will happen whenever it happens.

I love writing this blog, and I wish I could better maintain it, but in the short term I have exams until next week, and in the long term I’ve had quite a hard time recently with the mental health stuff, to the point that I’m finally starting to put together a plan to Talk To People and Do Something About This – and now that I’ve written that on here, I’ll have to do it! Any advice on Talking To People and Doing Something About This is welcome.

And I can’t work out how to end this post, so here’s an Imgur gallery of owls.

4 responses to “I’m still here!

  1. A Nonymous says:

    I think you’re sadly going to face the same problems many of us face when Trying to Interact with Allistics.

    I’ve spent a lot of time – I mean years obsessing about the problem – trying to work on this. My own experience (ymmv) is that being socially inept sets you up for social rejection, anxiety, depression, general mental instability and possibly paranoia.

    I mean, I’m told that much of my social anxiety is “irrational”, which sounds like a working definition of paranoia.

    As a woman, I suspect you may have the advantage that you’re less likely to be seen as a potential physical violence, even rape, threat simply for being socially inept. Equally, as a woman, you may be more likely to be taken advantage of by the kind of allistics, especially male ones, who may see you as an easy target. Please be careful.

    It’s worth remembering that some interaction with allistics can be taken at face value. Some of these allistics may genuinely enjoy your company. Equally, some of them will smile to your face, and tell you what they think you want to hear, while sharpening their metaphorical knives behind your back, preparing to metaphorically stab you there when they decide they’ve had enough of you. This has happened to me a little too often, which I why I stopped trying.

    The problem, and I have no good advice on how to do this, is telling the difference.

    Remember also that not all Aspies will behave like civilised sentient beings either – our own communities are not always safe places.

    Advice? The best I can do is suggest something based around your perseveration/s, but remember they can be utterly dishonest.

  2. Bigger On The Inside says:

    It’s good to know you’re still here.
    I don’t really have any useful advice about Talking to People and Doing Something About This, except that looking at pictures of owls on the Internet is probably a good place to start.
    🐣 (in the absence of a suitable emoticowl)

  3. Oooh, have you seen the “melting” owl on Tumblr? 🙂

    The only advice I have is take small steps and reward yourself for any progress and try to keeping moving forward on the Talking to People and Doing Something Plan, even if just a little at a time. Also, having someone (supportive friend, random blog reader, etc 🙂 ) to be accountable to is something that helps me a lot.

Leave a Reply

the silent wave

life through one female Asperger's lens

Living In Limbo

The rants, writing and ramblings of a queer, autistic, chronically ill young adult.

Little Bird, Dreaming

Welcome to the landscapes, mindscapes, and futurescapes of my geography journeys

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Sacred Liminality

musings of a genderfluid Fae

the uninspirational

I'm not aspiring to inspire you

Elephants Remember

Living and working with autism in a non-autistic world

that Bloody Cat

Love and chaos deep in the Midwest

Just One Autistic Girl

Be As Younique as your own Fingerprint

drcable sTRANge notes

notes on the sTRANge

A Willful Woman...

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

Musings Of A Wandering Autistic

I'm Autistic, I like walks, there's probably water nearby.

searchingtounderstand

When I understand, I feel better. This condemns me to a lot of reading and thinking.

21andsensory

I'm Emily and I have Sensory Processing Disorder

