Feminist Aspie

Echolalia, stimming and… erm… Daleks?

on January 13, 2014

I’m back at uni, so I’m starting to try and think of short post ideas so, well, I can stop just abandoning the blog for weeks on end. This is one such post, so it’s really just a list of links, and hopefully I’ll keep posting around once a week.

Echolalia, explained in more detail here by Musings of an Aspie, is basically the repetition of words, either immediately or from remembered language such as movie lines. Such repetition is common in autistic people, both as a form of communication and as a stim; today I’m going to focus on the latter. Here’s a brilliant demonstration by Yes, That Too; “ladle” is a great word, isn’t it?

Personally, one of my stims is echolalia, and one of my special interests (not a big fan of that term myself, but I haven’t thought of anything better…) is Doctor Who. This leads to some really fun times on YouTube:

Exterminate! – Every time a Dalek says “Exterminate!” in both classic and modern Who (until the end of Series 5).

Fantastic! – Every time Nine/Christopher Eccleston says “Fantastic!”; this one includes more of each scene rather than just the word itself, so there’s less instant repetition, but here it is anyway.

Well… – A compilation of Ten/David Tennant saying “Well…” (with surprise John Barrowman at the end for some reason).

Tenth Doctor Says “Sorry” 120 Times – Does what it says on the tin. Also an accurate portrayal of what would happen if David Tennant were to star in a film about my life.

The Title Of The Episode, In The Episode – Every title drop in modern Who (until the end of Series 7). Stimming-wise, I think I’ve saved the best until last. There’s an episode in the first series called “Dalek”. You can imagine how many times that gets said. DALEK DALEK DALEK DALEK DALEK DALEK DALEK DALEK DALEK… I was shown this one and, much hand-flapping later, made a cup of tea whilst sort of bobbing around repeating the word “Dalek”. Possibly more fun for me than it is for most people… 😛

I did look for a “bow ties are cool” montage, but I couldn’t find one. Instead, here’s a completely irrelevant but nonetheless amazing video demonstrating why Haddaway’s “What Is Love?” is incredibly well-suited to 50th anniversary “The Day of the Doctor” puns.

5 responses to “Echolalia, stimming and… erm… Daleks?

  1. ischemgeek says:

    Reminds me of the Star Trek vids that have Picard saying “make it so”.

    They made a song with the “make it so” in the chorus out of it, too. And it’s amazing.

  2. Alex Cale says:

    Hi FeministAspie,
    My name is Alex and I just had a quick question about your blog. Please email me back at your earliest convenience!

Leave a Reply

the silent wave

life through one female Asperger's lens

Living In Limbo

The rants, writing and ramblings of a queer, autistic, chronically ill young adult.

Little Bird, Dreaming

Welcome to the landscapes, mindscapes, and futurescapes of my geography journeys

Sacred Liminality

musings of a genderfluid Fae

the uninspirational

I'm not aspiring to inspire you

Elephants Remember

Living and working with autism in a non-autistic world

that Bloody Cat

Love and chaos deep in the Midwest

Just One Autistic Girl

Be As Younique as your own Fingerprint

drcable sTRANge notes

notes on the sTRANge

A Willful Woman...

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

Musings Of A Wandering Autistic

I'm Autistic, I like walks, there's probably water nearby.

searchingtounderstand

When I understand, I feel better. This condemns me to a lot of reading and thinking.

21andsensory

I'm Emily and I have Sensory Processing Disorder

Michy's Mess

The Mess of my Ups and Downs and All Arounds

