Feminist Aspie

On Being Taken Seriously

on August 7, 2013

(I should probably give a CW for strong language…)

Don’t think this will just blow over.

Don’t think I only express anger because I’m an irrational bitch who “goes jackshit crazy once a month” (not my words). In fact, don’t assume I’m on my period at all.

Don’t think I haven’t thought anything through.

Don’t think I’ll forget everything I know the second I see you again.

Don’t think I’ll change my mind at the first sight of some pretty flowers. Oh, and don’t use them to act like I owe you, to guilt-trip me into just going along with it.

Don’t think I’m too silly or emotional to understand when you’re the one trying to shout me into submission.

Because women can have opinions too, and they’re not all based on fucking hormones.

Don’t think that past love and kindness mean you’re eternally entitled to get away with whatever you want.

Don’t think that past love and kindness mean you’re entitled to have me forever. Actually, don’t think you can “have me” at all. I’m not a thing.

Don’t think you can manipulate me into doing or thinking anything.

Don’t think I don’t have a will of my own, a life of my own, a mind of my own.

Don’t invalidate “no” to the point that I’m a little scared to say it.

And don’t you ever

ever

ever

think

not even for one tiny second

that this will just blow over.

4 responses to “On Being Taken Seriously

  1. autisticook says:

    You know what? Even though you said you have all the assertiveness of a blade of grass, you still did this. Sometimes it takes a bit more time. But that’s ok. Good for you!

  2. […] I first wrote about neurotypical privilege back in February 2013Ā but can also be seenĀ here,Ā here,Ā hereĀ and […]

Leave a Reply

Living In Limbo

The rants, writing and ramblings of a queer, autistic, chronically ill young adult.

Little Bird, Dreaming

Welcome to the landscapes, mindscapes, and futurescapes of my geography journeys

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Sacred Liminality

musings of a genderfluid Fae

the uninspirational

I'm not aspiring to inspire you

Elephants Remember

Living and working with autism in a non-autistic world

that Bloody Cat

Love and chaos deep in the Midwest

Just One Autistic Girl

Be As Younique as your own Fingerprint

drcable sTRANge notes

notes on the sTRANge

A Willful Woman...

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

Musings Of A Wandering Autistic

I'm Autistic, I like walks, there's probably water nearby.

searchingtounderstand

When I understand, I feel better. This condemns me to a lot of reading and thinking.

21andsensory

I'm Emily and I have Sensory Processing Disorder

Michy's Mess

The Mess of my Ups and Downs and All Arounds

