Feminist Aspie

ADVERTS. Happiness and weight loss are NOT THE SAME THING. (TW for eating disorders)

on January 12, 2013

It’s probably a bit late to write this blog post, to be fair, but as you’ve probably all noticed by now, dieting adverts are everywheremainly due to New Year I guess. And, as usual, the majority of characters in these adverts are women. Believe it or not, some men want to diet too, and alienating 50% of your target market for the sake of perpetuating gender stereotypes is really not a good idea. Another common theme this year is that (if you happen to be female, anyway), happiness and/or confidence is guaranteed when you lose weight; or, worse, that weight loss is the only way to attain it.

Take this year’s advert by LighterLife, for example. Synopsis: A woman dreams of becoming a singer but instead settles down, gets a job in a bank and “eats without thinking”. Then she goes on a diet and suddenly, her singing dream comes true; the implied message being “lose weight in order to achieve your dreams”. Seriously. The advert’s YouTube description claims it is “a daring new brand identity to challenge the conventions of the weight loss industry”. Honestly, I don’t see what’s being challenged at all; is it the fact that women have dreams that’s seen to be “daring”?

So many other dieting adverts this year start by talking about happiness and/or confidence so the public will see them as different or even empowering, but in reality they’re linking this happiness and/or confidence. For instance, this Special K advert starts by lamenting people being “defined by a number”, then goes on to say “We believe in a more powerful motivation… not a number, but the way you want to feel.” The slogan is “What will you gain when you lose?”. Again, the implied message is that you must lose weight to feel good about yourself. Also worth noting is this year’s WeightWatchers advert, in which Patsy Kensit goes on a diet because “If there’s anything I’d like to get back, it’s my confidence”. Same again – to get your “sparkle back”, according to WeightWatchers, you have to lose weight.

No. Just no. This is sexism, body policing, and just plain wrong.

2 responses to “ADVERTS. Happiness and weight loss are NOT THE SAME THING. (TW for eating disorders)

  1. Great post! I have been on a rant for days about this topic. Between the ads for dieting and dating I have wanted to write a post myself, but I knew I would end up being too ranty. 🙂 (It is a touchy subject for me because I’ve struggled with eating disorders for much of my life.)

    It bothers me that we have all of these advertisements tell us we need to be skinny and/or find a partner in order to have any self-worth or accomplish our goals. And the target is mostly women.

    “No. Just no. This is sexism, body policing, and just plain wrong.” I agree!

    • Thank you so much! 😀 That’s a good point about finding a partner, too. And if you HAVE a partner (or even if you don’t, sometimes), people start asking about children. Self-worth should come from YOURSELF. It’s called SELF-worth! 🙂

Leave a Reply

the silent wave

life through one female Asperger's lens

Living In Limbo

The rants, writing and ramblings of a queer, autistic, chronically ill young adult.

Little Bird, Dreaming

Welcome to the landscapes, mindscapes, and futurescapes of my geography journeys

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Sacred Liminality

musings of a genderfluid Fae

the uninspirational

I'm not aspiring to inspire you

Elephants Remember

Living and working with autism in a non-autistic world

that Bloody Cat

Love and chaos deep in the Midwest

Just One Autistic Girl

Be As Younique as your own Fingerprint

drcable sTRANge notes

notes on the sTRANge

A Willful Woman...

Thoughts about books from a romance addict.

Musings Of A Wandering Autistic

I'm Autistic, I like walks, there's probably water nearby.

searchingtounderstand

When I understand, I feel better. This condemns me to a lot of reading and thinking.

21andsensory

I'm Emily and I have Sensory Processing Disorder

